Can’t Fail.

My outfit of the day post today hasn’t come easy.

Well the clothes part did because I love clothes.

And today I went for adorably fierce.

My cardigan is from Forever 21. My black sheer, collared blouse is from Fiction and my leather leggings are from Winners. For my face I used Jane Iredale Amazing base in Bisque, the Made You Flush face palette from Quo and two pairs of Ardell false lashes. I can’t help myself when it comes to lashes.

And its the lashes that brought this all together.

I woke up with a lot of chest pain and numbness in my left shoulder and arm this morning. Though lately that’s been par for the course, I was upset and frustrated with my body. All I wanted to do was curl up in bed and hide from the world. Pretend it wasn’t out there waiting for me.

But then my mom came over and crawled in bed with me and started scratching my back. And it made me think about a conversation that we’d had about not letting the pain beat you. For those of you that don’t know my mom, she’s the coolest. Though this morning I had to make her promise not to make fun of me for two weeks because I needed a little break. I come from a long line of women that love black comedy.

Anyways, we had been talking about things and I was getting so bummed out and she stopped me and said “It’s a mental game. One you’re going to play with yourself everyday. You might not always win. And when you don’t, you take a little break and then you face it again

So this morning, after our coffee, I was standing in my bedroom thinking about getting ready and my eyes landed on those lashes. And I did something I almost never do and I put my lashes on first. Nothing else, just lashes. And instead of feeling downtrodden and sick and beaten by the hand I’ve been dealt, I felt fabulous. And I put on my outfit with the air of someone going to war.

There’s going to be days when all you want to do is hide. Let the world beat you for once. But there’s always going to be something, someone that reminds you that it’s not as bad as you think it is. That, while wearing your metaphorical double pair of lashes, you can face anything.

To all the babes out there struggling with something they feel like they can’t beat, it’s okay. It’s okay to hide away for a little bit. But sooner or later, you’re going to have to throw back the covers and climb out of your hiding spot. Find something that gives you the strength to face every day with a gorgeous smile. I promise it’ll be worth it.

2 thoughts on “Can’t Fail.

Leave a note!

